Can't get SSL working

For discussion of the Poker Mavens server module and other administration topics
DaneW

Can't get SSL working

Post by DaneW »

Im not very tech savvy and im trying to get SSL configured to get rid of the "NOT SECURE" alert in chrome.

I've purchased a CA from Comodo. I just dont know what files need to go where. I see the my dcvstatus is not complete. Im not sure what files need to be put into the 'Server Settings' fields. I have all these different files that I'm so confused.

Also since getting this CA I've upgrated to PM gold. Not sure if that has any influence on it.
Kent Briggs
Site Admin

Re: Can't get SSL working

Post by Kent Briggs »

You need the key file (which was used to create the certificate signing request), the cert file for your domain, and the root cert file. The last two being provided by your certificate authority. Each file must be in base-64 PEM format. The root cert file for Comodo with have the word "bundle" in the file name. If you load them into a text editor like NotePad the key file will have "-----BEGIN PRIVATE KEY-----" in the first line. The two cert files start with "-----BEGIN CERTIFICATE-----". Poker Mavens has a setting for each file that points to their location. You must also place the two OpenSSL DLL files into the program folder where PMServer.exe resides. A link to those are in the FAQ item 17 at http://www.briggsoft.com/pmfaq.htm
DaneW

Post by DaneW »

Does getting that root certificate take a while via DNS CNAME authentication? Saw it says something like could take 24-48 hrs to propagate.
Kent Briggs
Site Admin

Post by Kent Briggs »

DaneW wrote:Does getting that root certificate take a while via DNS CNAME authentication? Saw it says something like could take 24-48 hrs to propagate.
DNS propagation is just the amount of time it takes to get your domain name around the world to the local name servers. It has nothing to do with SSL.
DaneW

Post by DaneW »