upgrade problem with chrome browser

For discussion of the Poker Mavens server module and other administration topics

upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby social » Sun Aug 07, 2016 8:49 am

I upgraded to most recent Gold Version, but layout is broken in Chrome Browser but NOT in IE10. Can anybody help me figure out why, please?
This page is i-Framed into a website based mainly upon php.

Here is IE10, where it looks Normal:
PokerConnect    Play Poker » Social Handicapping2.png
PokerConnect Play Poker » Social Handicapping2.png (63.35 KiB) Viewed 6433 times



This is what it looks like in Chrome, the Layout of the page is broken, stuff from the right hand margin is now at bottom left, and the Top part which shows Games and Tournaments is missing:
PokerConnect    Play Poker » Social Handicapping.png
PokerConnect Play Poker » Social Handicapping.png (164.45 KiB) Viewed 6433 times
I
social
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Re: upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby Kent Briggs » Sun Aug 07, 2016 9:44 am

social wrote:I upgraded to most recent Gold Version, but layout is broken in Chrome Browser but NOT in IE10.


You have the GUI set to Desktop mode in the first instance and Mobile mode in the second. The default setting is "Auto detect" which will show Mobile mode if the device has touch screen capability. But the player can override that in the lobby window under Options -> Display Settings -> Interface. That can also be set from a startup URL parameter called GUIMode:

http://www.briggsoft.com/docs/pmavens/Technical_Startup.htm
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby Kent Briggs » Sun Aug 07, 2016 9:50 am

Also, Mobile mode expands itself to full frame (since it's meant for tablets and phones) and that probably explains your layout issues.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby social » Sun Aug 07, 2016 11:15 am

Kent Briggs wrote:
social wrote:I upgraded to most recent Gold Version, but layout is broken in Chrome Browser but NOT in IE10.


You have the GUI set to Desktop mode in the first instance and Mobile mode in the second. The default setting is "Auto detect" which will show Mobile mode if the device has touch screen capability. But the player can override that in the lobby window under Options -> Display Settings -> Interface. That can also be set from a startup URL parameter called GUIMode:

http://www.briggsoft.com/docs/pmavens/Technical_Startup.htm


OK, but I am viewing the same site, from the same laptop in both instances.
It's just when I use Chrome, I get what I assume is the Mobile layout (which sucks, in my case).

This laptop IS TouchScreen, so that explains Part of the issue, I guess...

but I wonder why is IE10 showing me the Nicer (nonTouch) Version on the same laptop?
social
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Re: upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby Kent Briggs » Sun Aug 07, 2016 12:33 pm

social wrote:OK, but I am viewing the same site, from the same laptop in both instances.
It's just when I use Chrome, I get what I assume is the Mobile layout (which sucks, in my case).
This laptop IS TouchScreen, so that explains Part of the issue, I guess...
but I wonder why is IE10 showing me the Nicer (nonTouch) Version on the same laptop?


Every browser has its own local storage system for settings. So most likely you changed the interface setting from "Auto detect" to "Desktop" in IE10 at some point. Go in there now and see if that is the case.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby social » Sun Aug 07, 2016 2:31 pm

Kent Briggs wrote:
social wrote:OK, but I am viewing the same site, from the same laptop in both instances.
It's just when I use Chrome, I get what I assume is the Mobile layout (which sucks, in my case).
This laptop IS TouchScreen, so that explains Part of the issue, I guess...
but I wonder why is IE10 showing me the Nicer (nonTouch) Version on the same laptop?


Every browser has its own local storage system for settings. So most likely you changed the interface setting from "Auto detect" to "Desktop" in IE10 at some point. Go in there now and see if that is the case.


I've done a search in "settings" for autodetect, with NO results...same thing for interface setting:

http://prntscr.com/c2s0nj

I did another search, and the closest thing I came up with was this:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... b3f3cb4f49

So, then I realized I am using "Edge" - but that is even worse.
I cannot find anything when I do searches for autodetect, and the closest I came was this:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... 2147217396

I am getting very frustrated because I am a functional illiterate who does not know the difference between Internet Explorer, Windows 10 and Edge,
and I just don't know where people get the hours and hours needed to track this stuff down and learn it.
Sorry for my frustration, thanks for trying to help. I have spent two hours today trying to get an answer from the jerks at 1and1.com why the domain I bought from them two days ago has not been registered yet...so, time for a nap, I think.
social
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Re: upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby Kent Briggs » Sun Aug 07, 2016 2:51 pm

social wrote:I've done a search in "settings" for autodetect, with NO results


This is a Poker Mavens setting in the client. I mentioned where to find it above:

Lobby window -> Options menu -> Display Settings -> Interface
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby social » Mon Aug 08, 2016 3:45 pm

Kent Briggs wrote:
social wrote:I've done a search in "settings" for autodetect, with NO results


This is a Poker Mavens setting in the client. I mentioned where to find it above:

Lobby window -> Options menu -> Display Settings -> Interface


OK, just to clarify, the setting is on Autodetect. Period. I have never changed it, did not know it existed.

I am using the same player account to access the game, but Chrome shows the Mobile version, and edge shows the desktop version,
even though the Display setting is set to Autodetect.

So, yes, I can indeed switch the setting from Autodetect to Desktop if I want a nicer experience from my laptop,
because this Mobile version looks and acts terrible.

Note: I have since simplified the page that it was being iFramed into, which has improved things somewhat.

But it looks like Edge has a problem recognizing my laptop as having Mobile/Touchscreeen attributes, if I have understood this discussion properly.
social
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Re: upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby Kent Briggs » Mon Aug 08, 2016 4:55 pm

social wrote:OK, just to clarify, the setting is on Autodetect. Period. I have never changed it, did not know it existed.
I am using the same player account to access the game, but Chrome shows the Mobile version, and edge shows the desktop version,
even though the Display setting is set to Autodetect.


Did you check the setting in both Edge and Chrome? Because each browser will store that setting in their own location. The entire criteria used by the Auto Detect setting is if it has touch capability using this line of javascript:

hasTouch = "ontouchstart" in document;

So true = use Mobile GUI and false = use Desktop GUI. If Chrome shows Auto Detect is selected on a touch screen laptop then starting up in Mobile mode is exactly as expected. If Edge does not then either someone changed its setting to Desktop previously or the Edge browser does not support the touch screen capabilities of your laptop.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: upgrade problem with chrome browser

Postby social » Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:00 pm

I have had the css of the page the client is iFramed into, and it looks better, but I do not understand why there are dark, black blocks above and below the tables...
Please see pic:
http://prntscr.com/c3czvn

PLUS, I cannot seem to drag and drop the tables in touchscreen mode...so, how do people play more than ONE table at a time in Mobile mode?
social
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Next

Return to Site Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests