Need some help

For general discussion of the Poker Mavens software
Post Reply
naked_eskimo
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:51 pm

Need some help

Post by naked_eskimo »

Hi, all not sure what I did wrong but I was doing some clean up on my server (need to host a game in two hours and havent touched it for a long time). One thing I did was uninstall PM6, but now my PM7 install is borked somehow. It looks normal, service is running, and when I open the manager it opens fine and says service is running too, but when I look in the error log there are entries for could not bind to socket and address, already in use.

Also if I launch the admin console, I just get an empty browser.

I used netstat -ano but I cannot see anything listening on 80 or 8080. I ran nmap against it from a linux box on the same subnet, nothing buy mysql showed up.

But whenever I start the PM7 service, I get a could not bind to socket error.

Starting to panic a bit as my game starts in 90 mins.
naked_eskimo
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:51 pm

Re: Need some help

Post by naked_eskimo »

Or maybe something is listening on 80?

C:\>netstat -aon | findstr :80
TCP 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
TCP [::]:80 [::]:0 LISTENING 4

C:\> tasklist /svc /FI "PID eq 4"

Image Name PID Services
========================= ======== ============================================
System 4 N/A

C:\>netstat -aon | findstr :8080

C:\> tasklist /svc /FI "PID eq 4"

Image Name PID Services
========================= ======== ============================================
System 4 N/A



But it looks like its the System process listening on port 80?
naked_eskimo
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:51 pm

Re: Need some help

Post by naked_eskimo »

Some progress. I killed any process using http (net stop HTTP) and now I can launch the admin console, but when I try to make a client connection, I get a 503 service unavailable, and I still the could not bind to socket in the error log...

ugh
naked_eskimo
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:51 pm

Re: Need some help

Post by naked_eskimo »

I'm an idot. I had forgot to click START in the admin console after starting the service.
naked_eskimo
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:51 pm

Re: Need some help

Post by naked_eskimo »

Though it does seem that there was a conflict on port 80. Still haven't sorted that out since I did netstat stop HTTP...but the things it stopped were stuff like ws-management and printer spooler... kind of normal I think. Never had a conflict with those before.
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
Posts: 5675
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Need some help

Post by Kent Briggs »

Typically it's the Microsoft IIS Web Server that is binding port 80 if you're on a Windows Server 20xx machine. If you're not using it, it should be uninstalled.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Post Reply