Enable Chat Bot functionality

Add your suggestions for improving Poker Mavens

Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby social » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:05 am

Please consider providing the necessary functionality to "listen" to Chat Statements,
and use Keywords to trigger Bot events - so that Conversations could occur,
and so that Users could Order special things, like upgrading their Memberships
during a game, or buying more Credit from a Pit Boss, etc....
or buying everybody at the table a drink.

I know you said this is possible In the Lobby.

I would also like to be able to communicate with all the players while they are at the tables,
to make special announcements while games are in progress.

I have a lot of ways that I would like to use Bots from within the Table Environment,
rather than having to go to the Lobby.

I would like my users to be able to Multitask, and interact with other APPs on my site
while they are playing.

Of course a lot of this maybe would be best in a Private Chat mode....
if that was possible.

This is especially important for Mobile Users, because navigation between screens seems to be a bit of a Pain, to me.
social
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Re: Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby Kent Briggs » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:23 am

You can make announcements in the table chat at any time using the RingGamesMessage and TournamentsMessage commands in the API. Also, you can still monitor player chat at the tables using the Hand Event callback. It just wouldn't be quite in real-time since that triggers once at the end of each hand (which may be good enough in some cases). You would then retrieve the hand history and have to pull out the chat lines with your own filtering code. Another option is to embed the client in an iframe on your web site and reserve a little bit of space on the screen edge for your own menu, which can trigger anything you want it to do outside of the game.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3831
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby social » Sun Dec 11, 2016 6:32 pm

Kent Briggs wrote:You can make announcements in the table chat at any time using the RingGamesMessage and TournamentsMessage commands in the API. Also, you can still monitor player chat at the tables using the Hand Event callback. It just wouldn't be quite in real-time since that triggers once at the end of each hand (which may be good enough in some cases). You would then retrieve the hand history and have to pull out the chat lines with your own filtering code. Another option is to embed the client in an iframe on your web site and reserve a little bit of space on the screen edge for your own menu, which can trigger anything you want it to do outside of the game.


Is there any way to have an announcement appear as a Popup or Overlay above each table, where people could not miss it if they have chat shut off or aren't looking at it?
social
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Re: Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby harrythree » Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:30 pm

social wrote:
Kent Briggs wrote:You can make announcements in the table chat at any time using the RingGamesMessage and TournamentsMessage commands in the API. Also, you can still monitor player chat at the tables using the Hand Event callback. It just wouldn't be quite in real-time since that triggers once at the end of each hand (which may be good enough in some cases). You would then retrieve the hand history and have to pull out the chat lines with your own filtering code. Another option is to embed the client in an iframe on your web site and reserve a little bit of space on the screen edge for your own menu, which can trigger anything you want it to do outside of the game.


Is there any way to have an announcement appear as a Popup or Overlay above each table, where people could not miss it if they have chat shut off or aren't looking at it?


When your backend is listening for server callbacks and posting to the various chat APIs, it could also trigger some JavaScript code or HTML on your site that would then trigger some type of custom modal to pop up above the iframe where your mavens client is running.

This has a pretty good example of what I'm trying to explain

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2478 ... ove-iframe
harrythree
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:20 pm

Re: Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby social » Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:48 pm

harrythree wrote:
social wrote:
Kent Briggs wrote:You can make announcements in the table chat at any time using the RingGamesMessage and TournamentsMessage commands in the API. Also, you can still monitor player chat at the tables using the Hand Event callback. It just wouldn't be quite in real-time since that triggers once at the end of each hand (which may be good enough in some cases). You would then retrieve the hand history and have to pull out the chat lines with your own filtering code. Another option is to embed the client in an iframe on your web site and reserve a little bit of space on the screen edge for your own menu, which can trigger anything you want it to do outside of the game.


Is there any way to have an announcement appear as a Popup or Overlay above each table, where people could not miss it if they have chat shut off or aren't looking at it?


When your backend is listening for server callbacks and posting to the various chat APIs, it could also trigger some JavaScript code or HTML on your site that would then trigger some type of custom modal to pop up above the iframe where your mavens client is running.

This has a pretty good example of what I'm trying to explain

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2478 ... ove-iframe


Is it possible for Admin to include clickable Links/URLs in Announcements in the Chatbox OR in the Chatbox in the Lobby?
social
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Re: Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby Kent Briggs » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:28 am

social wrote:Is there any way to have an announcement appear as a Popup or Overlay above each table, where people could not miss it if they have chat shut off or aren't looking at it?


Not at each table but you can use ConnectionsMessage in the API to throw a popup message over the lobby window for specific players. It has to be acknowledged before the lobby can be used again.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3831
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby social » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:36 am

social wrote:
Is it possible for Admin to include clickable Links/URLs in Announcements in the Chatbox OR in the Chatbox in the Lobby?

I tried to post a link in the Lobby Chat as Administrator but it was not clickable.

Allowing clickable links would make it much easier to provide customer support by referring people to FAQ pages, etc.
social
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Re: Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby Kent Briggs » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:39 am

social wrote:Is it possible for Admin to include clickable Links/URLs in Announcements in the Chatbox OR in the Chatbox in the Lobby?


Not in the chat boxes (html tags are escaped there for security) but you can include links in the Description field for each table. Also in the Site News and Site FAQ boxes. When doing that, be sure to include a target="_blank" attribute to load the link into a new tab.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3831
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby social » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:25 pm

Kent Briggs wrote:
social wrote:Is it possible for Admin to include clickable Links/URLs in Announcements in the Chatbox OR in the Chatbox in the Lobby?


Not in the chat boxes (html tags are escaped there for security) but you can include links in the Description field for each table. Also in the Site News and Site FAQ boxes. When doing that, be sure to include a target="_blank" attribute to load the link into a new tab.


Could you build in an option to not apply the "escape" to Admins?
social
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:23 am

Re: Enable Chat Bot functionality

Postby Kent Briggs » Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:02 am

social wrote:Could you build in an option to not apply the "escape" to Admins?


I'll consider that. But there's a danger there though because if you forget to include that target attribute (and most probably will forget), clicking the link will overwrite and disconnect the client. And even if you do include it, a mobile user running in full-screen app mode will disconnect anyway.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3831
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Next

Return to Wish List

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron