PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a chop option.

Add your suggestions for improving Poker Mavens

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a chop option.

Postby Shagnasty » Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:52 am

Some tournaments can start early if 4 out 6 registered players have the start early button clicked. Could you maybe incorporate this into the tournaments to where if the last three remaining players, for example, have the chop button selected, then the tourney will automatically end and split the winnings amongst those three. It would be an awesome addition to some awesome software and those of us at Seals With Clubs would greatly appreciate it. Right now we are having to transfer chips to each other to even it out, and you worry about the guy who isn't going to do what he promises. Or 7 people want to chop a big tournament, but the maneuvering of chips would be complicated and difficult to coordinate, so we have to wait.
Shagnasty
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:43 am

Re: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a chop option.

Postby Kent Briggs » Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:15 am

The site owner could implement this with the API. Put a button on the web site where players can request a chop. When everyone left in the tournament has selected it, an API call can just cancel the tournament, which automatically spreads the remaining prize pool out.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3806
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a chop option.

Postby Shagnasty » Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:48 pm

Kent Briggs wrote:The site owner could implement this with the API. Put a button on the web site where players can request a chop. When everyone left in the tournament has selected it, an API call can just cancel the tournament, which automatically spreads the remaining prize pool out.

Wait, so could he put an actual button on the table window similar to the "check/fold" button? Or like a chat command like <even chop on> that everyone could put. Or does it have to be on the actual website.
Shagnasty
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:43 am

Re: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a chop option.

Postby Kent Briggs » Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:17 pm

Shagnasty wrote:Wait, so could he put an actual button on the table window similar to the "check/fold" button? Or like a chat command like <even chop on> that everyone could put. Or does it have to be on the actual website.


No, you can't modify the Flash interface. You would need a function back on the main web site or else the client could be embedded in a web page with an iframe tag, leaving a little room on one of the four edges for custom HTML.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3806
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a chop option.

Postby Shagnasty » Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:01 am

Kent Briggs wrote:
Shagnasty wrote:Wait, so could he put an actual button on the table window similar to the "check/fold" button? Or like a chat command like <even chop on> that everyone could put. Or does it have to be on the actual website.


No, you can't modify the Flash interface. You would need a function back on the main web site or else the client could be embedded in a web page with an iframe tag, leaving a little room on one of the four edges for custom HTML.


Alright, that sounds ok. What about the chat command? Like if all remaining players put a command in the chat table that would do it? Thanks again for the answers.
Shagnasty
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:43 am

Re: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a chop option.

Postby Kent Briggs » Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:29 am

Shagnasty wrote:Alright, that sounds ok. What about the chat command? Like if all remaining players put a command in the chat table that would do it? Thanks again for the answers.


There are no API functions monitoring the table chat. It gets written to the hand history files so you would have to be constantly polling those with API code, looking for the specific keywords. That would be very inefficient since they have to be reloaded in full on each call.
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3806
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a chop option.

Postby antmar904 » Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:58 pm

Kent Briggs wrote:
Shagnasty wrote:Wait, so could he put an actual button on the table window similar to the "check/fold" button? Or like a chat command like <even chop on> that everyone could put. Or does it have to be on the actual website.


No, you can't modify the Flash interface. You would need a function back on the main web site or else the client could be embedded in a web page with an iframe tag, leaving a little room on one of the four edges for custom HTML.



Kent,

You stated above that the flash interface can be embedded into a iframe.

Is this something that can be done easily?
antmar904
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:24 pm

Re: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a chop option.

Postby Kent Briggs » Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:08 pm

antmar904 wrote:You stated above that the flash interface can be embedded into a iframe.
Is this something that can be done easily?


Yes, that's very simple. See item 3 in the FAQ:

http://www.briggsoft.com/pmfaq.htm
Kent Briggs - [email protected]
Briggs Softworks - http://www.briggsoft.com
Kent Briggs
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3806
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:47 pm


Return to Wish List

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron