Page 1 of 3

Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 12:48 am
by Tuck Fheman
Prior to shutting down Poker Mavens, I had around 24 Accounts that had signed up.

When I shut PM down, it exited with an error message.

When I started PM back up, there were only 15 accounts. =/

I'm sorry I did not catch what the error message was, but if you can tell me where I can locate a log file that will help I'll paste it here.

Re: Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:16 am
by Kent Briggs
On the System tab, click the Help button and then "Locate data folder". There is a Logs folder with Error and Event logs inside. The only way accounts could disappear is if the program could not write to the Accounts.db database file (also located in the data folder).

Re: Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 11:33 pm
by Tuck Fheman
I think I know what happened. I changed the API settings while running, then I believe I turned it off because I couldn't get what I was trying to do to work, when I went to shut down "Failed API attempt (API not enabled) error happened then a series of "AccountsThread.Execute error: Transaction is already opened." messages in the log before exit.

So I won't do that again. ;)

Re: Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 11:46 pm
by Kent Briggs
Tuck Fheman wrote:So I won't do that again.


Actually if you can duplicate that error so that I can replicate it, I could handle the error condition better.

Re: Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:48 am
by Tuck Fheman
Kent Briggs wrote:
Tuck Fheman wrote:So I won't do that again.


Actually if you can duplicate that error so that I can replicate it, I could handle the error condition better.


I'm not sure that's something I want to duplicate. :) But I get you, I'll back everything up and see if I can do it again.

I had this one last night. Probably same scenario, I edited a few fields that indicated they were editable while running (just mentioning that in case it matters) and then later I noticed these errors, and when I went to shut down PM crashed and this time I got a screenshot.

Image

Image

Re: Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:11 am
by Kent Briggs
Something is wrong with your file system. It's not allowing the database file to be updated. A few questions:

What version of Windows do you have?
Does it have all the latest updates?
Do you have plenty of free disk space?
Are you logged in as administrator?
Do you have any security apps like Norton running?
Have you rebooted lately?

Re: Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:46 pm
by Tuck Fheman
Kent Briggs wrote:Something is wrong with your file system. It's not allowing the database file to be updated. A few questions:

What version of Windows do you have?
Does it have all the latest updates?
Do you have plenty of free disk space?
Are you logged in as administrator?
Do you have any security apps like Norton running?
Have you rebooted lately?


Windows Server 2012 R2
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes, but added exclusions.
Yes.

Re: Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:06 pm
by Kent Briggs
Tuck Fheman wrote:
Kent Briggs wrote:Do you have any security apps like Norton running?


Yes, but added exclusions.


What specifically is running?

Re: Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:09 pm
by Kent Briggs
Also, see if anything mentioned here applies:

http://www.personalcomputerfixes.com/how-to-fix-runtime-error-217/

Re: Users gone from accounts after error

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 3:50 am
by Tuck Fheman
Kent Briggs wrote:
Tuck Fheman wrote:
Kent Briggs wrote:Do you have any security apps like Norton running?


Yes, but added exclusions.


What specifically is running?


Immunet & Malwarebytes

I've not seen a single error since.

The two times I've encountered errors was when I edited something while PM was running.

I did discover I was running low on Disk space down to 8GB available and added some more.