Page 1 of 2

Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:16 pm
by Tuck Fheman
I have a really stupid question.

I pointed a domain redirect to http://my.ip.add.ress:8087 and when I go to the domain name it shows the login page as expected.

However, after entering the password I get a blank page with the Poker Maven background color only.

If I go to http://my.ip.add.ress:8087 directly, all works fine. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

Re: Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:18 pm
by Tuck Fheman
I forgot and couldn't find an edit button.

When trying to access via the domain name, I changed the Internet Address settings in Poker Maven to the domain.com

Then turned off Append port.

Re: Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:11 pm
by Kent Briggs
How did you perform the domain redirect? If you're using Godaddy's URL forwarding, that will trigger a security issue in a lot of browsers because they do that through an iframe. The correct way is to edit the "A" record in Godaddy's DNS system and set your IP there. Do not include the port there.

Re: Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:19 pm
by Tuck Fheman
I'll try the A record again.

I have another issue, which I was afraid of. Seeing I have no clue what I'm doing it appears I have purchased something I can't even use to run Poker Maven on.

In the FAQ it states I can use a "VPS running Windows Server 2003, 2008, or 2012", which I now have at HostGator, but for the life of me I see no way to install Poker Maven despite having the file there on the server.

Someone told me I can remote desktop in, but that does not appear to be the case at all since I can't connect from any computer I have access to.

I'm completely lost at this point and think I just wasted money on a VPS that's useless. :/

I got their CloudSites / Cloud Baby deal with 4GB/4CPU, seemed like the right thing according to all I've read. Did I muck up?

Re: Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:27 pm
by Tuck Fheman
Kent Briggs wrote:How did you perform the domain redirect?


Image

Re: Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:28 pm
by Kent Briggs
I'm pretty sure all of HostGator's VPS/Cloud system are Linux only, not Windows.

Re: Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:32 pm
by Kent Briggs
Where was that screenshot taken? In any case, a domain name or IP address without a port number also goes to port 80 so I doubt you can include that there. If you're not also running a web server on the same machine then you can change your File Port setting in Poker Maven from 8087 to 80.

Re: Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:34 pm
by Tuck Fheman
Kent Briggs wrote:I'm pretty sure all of HostGator's VPS/Cloud system are Linux only, not Windows.


Dammit Kent you're right lol.

I had so many providers open at once comparing and I guess I mixed HG up with another.

I could have swore I chose the specs upon checkout but I just went through again and there is absolutely no mention of Windows. doh!

OK, off to get the right thing this time and cancel this I hope.

Kent, I promise once I get this going I'll likely become a master at it and you'll never hear from me again (until I upgrade), so thanks for all of the help you'll likely have to give me over the next 24 hours. ;)

Re: Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:52 am
by Tuck Fheman
Does PM work with a domain redirect in Stealth mode?

Re: Domain redirect address?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:55 am
by Kent Briggs
Tuck Fheman wrote:Does PM work with a domain redirect in Stealth mode?


Any kind of domain forwarding or redirect may trigger a security error in your browser and refuse the connection (or the return websocket connection). For example, if you have a domain name at GoDaddy and use their Domain Forwarding feature, what that does is point your domain to a web page hosted by GoDaddy that contains an iframe pointing to your IP address. For whatever reason that triggers a security error in many browsers (which you can only see if you look an the browser's error console). I think it has to do with iframes inside of iframes using raw IP addresses. Anyway, the proper way to setup a domain name is to use the name servers at either the registrar itself (i.e., GoDaddy), your hosting service, or CloudFlare (if using that service) and edit the "A" record in the DNS settings and put your IP address there. Never use forwarding.