Page 1 of 1

Best way to pause a tournament

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 12:54 pm
by social
Please advise about the *best* technique for Pausing a Tournament for 5 or 10 minutes at points after it has started.

Sometimes I want players to be able to attend to some other events without missing action in the tournament.

So, I would like to be able to pause the tournament, and then when the event is over, enable the action to resume where it was left off.

Re: Best way to pause a tournament

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 1:54 pm
by Kent Briggs
You can do it manually right from the console or remote interface: select tournament, click Action button on the toolbar, then Pause (now) or Pause (after hand). Use the Resume command to continue. To automate this, there are TournamentsPause and TournamentsResume commands in the API.

Re: Best way to pause a tournament

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 2:09 pm
by social
Thanks, so does it give a notice that there will be a pause and let everyone finish their hands first?

Re: Best way to pause a tournament

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 2:32 pm
by Kent Briggs
social wrote:Thanks, so does it give a notice that there will be a pause and let everyone finish their hands first?


The "after hand" option does exactly that. The pause occurs once the current hand finishes at all tables. A System message appears in the table chat stating "Game has been paused by the Administrator".

Re: Best way to pause a tournament

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 2:50 pm
by social
Thanks, is there any way I can rig it so that players would be able to Buy More Chips during the Pause?

Re: Best way to pause a tournament

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:15 pm
by Kent Briggs
social wrote:Thanks, is there any way I can rig it so that players would be able to Buy More Chips during the Pause?


They can but they won't see confirmation of it until you resume it.

Re: Best way to pause a tournament

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 6:59 pm
by social
Not sure what Procedures will allow this?
From searching "rebuy/addons" it appears that there is no way to allow purchase of Addons,
and Rebuys are only available if you are below the starting Chipstack?

'Are you referring to simply allowing Rebuys up to and including the time of the "Pauses"?

Re: Best way to pause a tournament

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 7:13 pm
by Kent Briggs
social wrote:Not sure what Procedures will allow this?
From searching "rebuy/addons" it appears that there is no way to allow purchase of Addons,
and Rebuys are only available if you are below the starting Chipstack?

'Are you referring to simply allowing Rebuys up to and including the time of the "Pauses"?


I don't know who you are quoting there but there can only be one add-on and (if enabled) it only occurs at the end of the rebuy period. Typically you would schedule a break period at that time and the players would have until the end of the break to purchase the add-on. Otherwise a special 1 minute break is created for that purpose. As far as rebuys go, the "Rebuy threshold" field determines what their chip stack can be. None of this requires any pauses, though, so I'm not sure what you are trying to do.